Truly Waking Up

So this last week I processed and looked closer at a major part of my life.   For my entire life I was under the belief that I had suffered, as a teen and child, from severe Epilepsy.  I had seizure, medication, doctor visits and all this to confirm that this was a true part of my past life.  I have always been proud of the fact I beat the disease in my later teens and was able to move on from it.

Then it happened.  Through counseling, family testimony and by my own memories I was able to discover that the truth is I never had Epilepsy, rather it was a misdiagnosis and as it turns out the truth was much deeper and sinister.

When I reviewed the facts things just didn’t add up about me having this disease including a large dosage of medications taken daily.  On top of that I took various memories, shared by family members, and life experiences and put them together to come up with the truth of what really happened in my life.  Once I pieced together these events and memories it became quite clear of what really happened and that I was abused rather than suffering a disease.  I knew all along about some abuse, but I also knew there was more that I haven’t recalled yet.

Once I came to the truth it was like the darkness lightened a little and I felt more free.  I am fortunate to have a great counselor who has let me find the truth on my own, who has helped me understand myself and come to terms with my past.

I now move forward with greater hope than before.

The Truth Is Out There…

Leave a Reply

